Serie A

Official Website
Current Table

Serie A, the Italian top flight, kicked off in 1929. The league is known for its emphasis on tactics and defensive rigour with matches played at a slower pace than the other top divisions in Europe. Serie A teams enjoy a winter break and also contest the Coppa Italia.

Twenty sides fight it out each year to lift the scudetto. The top four qualify automatically for the Champions League, whilst the bottom three are relegated to Serie B.

Juventus of Turin are the most decorated side with 33 league victories and their recent domination has produced eight consecutive Serie A titles. Last season’s competition was won at a canter with Napoli a distant second.

Their four-year run of Coppa Italia victories was, however, brought to an end in 2018/2019 in a shock 3-0 quarter-final defeat at the hands of Atalanta. Atalanta were defeated 2-0 by Lazio in the final, but consoled themselves with a spot in the Champions League thanks to an impressive third place finish.

The Serie A all-time top scorer is Silvio Piola with 274 goals.

Teams 2019/2020
AC Milan, Atalanta, Bologna, Brescia, Cagliari, Fiorentina, Genoa, Inter Milan, Hellas Verona Juventus, Lazio, Lecce, Napoli, Parma, Roma, Sampdoria, Sassuolo, SPAL, Torino, Udinese

Serie A Winners
33 Juventus 16 Inter Milan 15 AC Milan 6 Torino 5 Bologna 3 Roma, 2 Napoli, Lazio, Fiorentina 1 Sampdoria, Hellas Verona, Cagliari

Coppa Italia Winners
13 Juventus 9 Roma 7 Inter Milan 6 Lazio, Fiorentina 5 Napoli, AC Milan, Torino 4 Sampdoria 3 Parma 2 Bologna 1 Vicenza, Atalanta, Venezia, Genoa, Vado

Sports, Travel, Languages, Music, Shows, Politics, My Life